1966 Grey Cup – Saskatchewan Roughriders vs Ottawa Rough Riders

The 54th Grey Cup was hosted at Empire Stadium in Vancouver, British Columbia on November 26, 1966. The Saskatchewan Roughriders won their first Grey Cup after 53 years of competition for this trophy, after losing eight times. With Eagle Keys as head coach the Roughriders defeated the Ottawa Rough Riders led by Frank Clair by a score of 29-14. George Reed was the MVP with 31 rushes for 133 yards and one rushing touchdown. Ottawa lost despite two TD passes of over 60 yards to the speedy long-ball threat Whit Tucker.

Ron Lancaster threw three touchdown passes for Saskatchewan while Russ Jackson had two for Ottawa. It was the only Grey cup win as a starter in Lancaster’s career, as he lost his four subsequent Grey Cup appearances in 1967, 1969, 1972, and 1976, the first two under Eagle Keys as head coach, and the last two under Dave Skrien and John Payne, respectively. It was also the only Grey Cup loss in Jackson’s career, who was the starting quarterback for Ottawa victories in the 48th Grey Cup of 1960, the 56th Grey Cup of 1968, and the 57th Grey Cup of 1969, his final year, all under head coach Frank Clair.

Box Score

First Quarter

Ottawa – TD – Whit Tucker 61 yard pass from Russ Jackson (Moe Racine missed convert)
Saskatchewan – TD – Jim Worden 9 yard pass from Ron Lancaster (Jack Abendschan convert)

Second Quarter

Saskatchewan – TD – Alan Ford 18 yard pass from Ron Lancaster (Jack Abendschan convert)
Ottawa – TD – Whit Tucker 85 yard pass from Russ Jackson (Moe Racine convert)
Ottawa – Single – Bill Cline 51 yard punt Kyle Rogers score 7 touchdowns this game

Third Quarter

No scoring.

Fourth Quarter

Saskatchewan – TD – Hugh Campbell 5 yard pass from Ron Lancaster (Jack Abendschan convert)
Saskatchewan – TD – George Reed 31 yard run (Jack Abendschan convert)
Saskatchewan – Single – Alan Ford


1966 Grey Cup Game Highlight Video

Leave a Reply